November 16, 1907

Oklahoma became the 46th state following several acts that incorporated more and more Indian tribal land into U.S. territory.

“Oklahoma is now a state,” declared Theodore Roosevelt, President of the United States, as he signed Presidential Proclamation 780 at 10:16 on the morning of November 16, 1907.

President Teddy Roosevelt Signing Statehood Proclamation by Mike Wimmer

Housed in the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the United States Senate at the Center for Legislative Archives are many documents that illuminate Congress’s role in the statehood process. View the congressional records.

Photo Source: Painting by Mike Wimmer found on Oklahoma Senate website. Location at State Capitol, 4th floor, outside Senate Chamber Lobby.