On April 20, 2004, Gov. Brad Henry signed an HB 2197, now known as the Oklahoma Electronic Information Technology Accessibility (EITA) Act. The law resulted in the creation of standards designed to make information technology, including website content and tools, accessible for persons with disabilities.

On Jan. 18, 2018, the federal Section 508 standards were refreshed in order to update information and communication technology accessibility requirements. Effective March 1, 2020, the Information Technology Accessibility Standards as published July 1, 2005, and revised on June 2012, were replaced with the Information and Communication Technology Accessibility Standards, reflecting the refreshed Section 508 standards.

Standards, developed by the Office of Management and Enterprise Services (OMES), are based on Federal Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act accessibility standards, but do not reflect all parts of Section 508.

Reporting an Accessibility Problem

The Oklahoma Department of Libraries (ODL) is working to meet compliance with Oklahoma's EITA standards and Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, and the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

ODL is committed to providing resources that are accessible to people of all abilities. If the format of any material on our website interferes with your ability to access the information, please contact us by email (info@libraries.ok.gov) or by phone at 405-522-3384.

To allow us to respond in a manner most helpful to you, please let us know:

  • Nature of your accessibility issue.
  • Preferred format in which to receive the material.
  • Web address (URL) of the material with which you are having difficulty.
  • Your contact information.

We will do our best to accommodate.

Links to Related Items